Arizona Game and Fish Commission specially
designates certain municipal lakes as Urban
Fishing Program waters. This special designation
includes rules and regulations that are unique
to these waters. The following information
highlights what are considered some of the
key regulations anglers fishing these waters
should be aware of.
For more details on general rules and regulations, please refer to the
Arizona Fishing Regulations Booklet available at license dealers, department
offices, or online.
All persons 14 years or older, while fishing
in Arizona, must have on their person a current
Arizona fishing license. Urban Fishing Program
waters require one of the following license
types (other types are not valid).
Type for Designated Urban Lakes
||no license required
14 and over
||Class U, Urban $18.50
good for calendar year
Class D, One day only $16.25 one day only
Class L, Super Fish good for calendar year. Residents: $53.00
70 and over
||Class P (Pioneer)
free if AZ resident 25 years
Other valid licenses include disabled veteran complimentary license and
youth-group two-day fishing license.
Licenses can be purchased at any Game and
Fish office, any one of our 340 license
dealers or sporting goods stores statewide
that sells state fishing and hunting licenses, or online through the Game and Fish website.
Class A (general fishing), Class F (combination hunt and fish), Class I
(family fishing), and Class B (four month fishing) licenses are not valid
at designated Urban Fishing Program lakes.
and Size Limits
for unlicensed juveniles
various species including bluegill,
redear, green, and hybrid
* Bag limit = what you catch and keep in one day. Possession limit = Same
limit as the daily bag limit. This includes the total fish you have; like
those in your home freezer plus those on your stringer or in your ice chest
of take, use of bait
or two poles only. If using two poles,
must have a $6 Two Pole stamp.
- Most types of bait are legal. The use of live bait fish (such as minnows) is illegal at all Tucson, Sahuarita and Payson area lakes.
snagging or use of nets to capture
rules and regulations vary by city and
are identified on signage at each park.
fishing, Game and Fish laws require
you to attend your line, that is, stay
near your fishing pole at all times.
If you need to leave, even for a short
period, simply reel your line in and
remove your bait from the water.
- When fishing, the
hook, fly or lure must be used in such
a manner that the fish voluntarily attempt
to take it in their mouths.
- It is a violation
to fail to keep all edible portions
of the fish in an edible condition or
to leave fish to die. This is wasting
- It is illegal to
transport live fish from a lake or to
transfer live fish from one body of
water to another. Unauthorized stocking
of fish, minnows and crayfish is illegal.
is a violation to litter. This includes
hooks, fishing line, bait containers,